1. Entertainment
Patrick Bromley

Guests Announced for Ellen DeGeneres' Mark Twain Prize TV Special

By October 7, 2012

Follow me on:

Ellen DegeneresComedian and talk show host Ellen DeGeneres will be only the fourth female in history to receive the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor later this month, joining the ranks of Lily Tomlin, Whoopi Goldberg and, most recently, Tina Fey. This week, the lists of those who will honor her on stage at the Kennedy Center on October 22 was announced, and it includes Jimmy Kimmel, Kristen Chenoweth, Steve Harvey, Lily Tomlin, John Krasinski, Sean Hayes and Jason Mraz.

DeGeneres is the 15th recipient of the Mark Twain Prize, which was first awarded in 1998 to Richard Pryor. The fact that she's only the fourth woman in 15 years is a little depressing, but so is the fact that the Kennedy Center gave one to Whoopi Goldberg while Joan Rivers and Roseanne Barr haven't been recognized. Last year's recipient was Will Ferrell.

In addition to being a stand-up comedian for 30 years, DeGeneres hosts her own hugely popular daytime talk show (it's won a total of 38 Emmys in its run), starred on two sitcoms, has written best-selling books and occupied a judge's seat for one season of American Idol.

The TV broadcast of DeGeneres' Mark Twain Prize reception will air on PBS on October 30.

Photo by Kevin Winter/Getty Images


October 9, 2012 at 6:33 pm
(1) Jason says:

Mark Twain award. For woman who looks the most like Mark Twain.

Leave a Comment

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>
  1. About.com
  2. Entertainment
  3. Comedians

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.